The structure of Freemasonry

Freemasonry is a fraternal organization that has a hierarchical structure with three main levels:

  1. Blue Lodge: The Blue Lodge, also known as the Craft Lodge, is the foundation of Freemasonry. It consists of three degrees: Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason. The Blue Lodge is responsible for initiating new members and teaching the basic principles of Freemasonry.
  2. York Rite and Scottish Rite: The York Rite and Scottish Rite are additional bodies that Masons may choose to join after becoming Master Masons. The York Rite consists of three bodies: Royal Arch Chapter, Cryptic Masons, and Knights Templar. The Scottish Rite consists of 33 degrees, which are divided into four bodies: Lodge of Perfection, Chapter of Rose Croix, Council of Kadosh, and Consistory.
  3. Shriners: The Shriners are a Masonic organization that focuses on philanthropy and community service. Membership in the Shriners is open to Master Masons who have completed the third degree.

Blue Lodge

The Blue Lodge, also known as the Craft Lodge, is the foundation of Freemasonry. It is the starting point for all Masonic members and consists of three degrees: Entered Apprentice, Fellowcraft, and Master Mason. The Blue Lodge is where Masons learn the basic principles of Freemasonry, such as brotherhood, charity, and morality.

The term “Blue Lodge” refers to the color of the aprons worn by the members during their meetings. The aprons are typically made of lambskin and decorated with Masonic symbols. The Blue Lodge is also where Masons conduct their business meetings and initiate new members into the organization.

The officers of the Blue Lodge include the Worshipful Master, Senior Warden, Junior Warden, Treasurer, Secretary, and Tyler. The Worshipful Master is the presiding officer of the lodge and is responsible for leading the meetings and overseeing the lodge’s activities. The Senior Warden and Junior Warden assist the Worshipful Master and are responsible for ensuring that the members are properly instructed and trained.

Overall, the Blue Lodge is a foundational part of Freemasonry, where members learn the basic principles and values of the organization, and where they form strong bonds of brotherhood with other members.

York Rite and Scottish Rite

The York Rite and Scottish Rite are additional bodies of Freemasonry that Masons may choose to join after becoming Master Masons in the Blue Lodge.

The York Rite is a collection of separate Masonic bodies that include the Chapter of Royal Arch Masons, Council of Royal & Select Masters, and Commandery of Knights Templar. These bodies provide further instruction and degree work beyond the three degrees of the Blue Lodge. The Royal Arch degree explores the legend of the rebuilding of the Temple of Solomon, while the Cryptic degrees focus on the story of the preservation of the secrets of the craft. The Knights Templar degrees center on the history and traditions of the medieval Knights Templar, who were a Christian military order during the Crusades.

The Scottish Rite, on the other hand, consists of a series of degrees that are numbered from 1 to 33. These degrees are divided into four parts or bodies: the Lodge of Perfection (4°-14°), the Chapter of Rose Croix (15°-18°), the Council of Kadosh (19°-30°), and the Consistory (31°-33°). The Scottish Rite degrees focus on a variety of themes and topics, such as philosophy, ethics, and the symbolism of Freemasonry.

Both the York Rite and Scottish Rite are considered to be extensions of the Blue Lodge and offer further opportunities for Masons to deepen their knowledge and understanding of Freemasonry. Each body has its own officers and rituals, but they all share the same core values and principles of brotherhood, charity, and morality.


Shriners are a fraternal organization within Freemasonry that is known for their charitable work and their distinctive red fezzes. The formal name of the organization is the Ancient Arabic Order of the Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, and it was founded in 1870.

To become a Shriner, one must first become a Master Mason in a recognized Masonic Lodge. Once this requirement is met, a Mason can then petition to join the Shriners.

The Shriners are dedicated to philanthropy and charitable work, particularly in the area of pediatric medical care. The organization operates 22 children’s hospitals in the United States, Canada, and Mexico, and provides care to children with a range of conditions, regardless of the family’s ability to pay. The Shriners also support other charitable causes, such as supporting veterans, promoting education, and providing disaster relief.

In addition to their charitable work, the Shriners also engage in social activities and events, such as parades and fundraisers, which are often open to the public. The organization also has a number of traditions and rituals, including the wearing of the distinctive red fezzes and participating in ceremonial events.

It’s important to note that the structure of Freemasonry may vary slightly depending on the jurisdiction, or geographical area, in which it is practiced. However, the basic principles and structure remain the same.

Stay up to date
Register now to get updates on promotions and coupons

Shopping cart